NEPSAC Champions Crowned

Monday, March 9th, 2015

NEPSAC Champions Crowned

Six NEPSAC champions were crowned on Sunday as Brewster Academy, Tilton School and Williston Northampton School captued the AAA, AA and A championships respectively at Endicott College.

CoxHub was in attendance with cameras rolling, live streaming the three championship games and also providing post-game highlights of each.

Williston/Suffield Highlights - Christian Wilkins made his final game in the high school ranks a memorable one, but Ryan Richmond was equally important for Williston Northampton, earning MVP honors and helping his squad to hold on for the championship in what was a hard fought and well played game by both sides. Garrett Stephenson led Suffield with 9 first-half points while Juwan Anderson played some of his best basketball down the stretch for the Tigers. Jake Ross also had a big championship game for Williston, including a big pull-up jumper at just about the two-minute mark and then some critical free-throws to ice the game.

Tilton/Vermont Highlights - The Rams defended their top seed holding off an explosive Vermont Academy team for a 68-63 decision. In a game full of highlight plays, Bruce Brown scored a game high 25 points while Tyrique Jones was all over the rim as well. Tilton's balanced offensive production was the key but Terance Mann and Brett Hanson both took turns putting the team on their back in the second half. Franklin Porter took MVP honors, making a number of critical and timely shots, including both threes and free-throws to ice the game for Tilton.

Brewster/St. Thomas More Highlights - Brewster Academy won their third straight NEPSAC AAA championship, holding off a hard-nosed STM team that refused to go away. Jalen Adams took MVP honors, making big plays whenever the Bobcats needed a bucket, while Justin Simon and Donovan Mitchell were equally impressive at times for the champions. St. Thomas More couldn't have been more resilient, fighting back to cut it to 5 down the stretch, and getting good production from Ryan Funk, Christian Vital and Arkel Lamar-Ager among others.

Brewster Academy, St. Thomas More and Tilton will all move on to the National Prep Championships, beginning Tuesday at Connecticut College in New London. CoxHub will again be live streaming the championship rounds, free of charge, with Wednesday's semifinals scheduled for 11am and 1pm and the final later that night at 7:30pm. Click here on Wednesday to watch that stream.

While the AAA, AA and A champions were crowned Sunday at Endicott, three other NEPSAC champions were crowned at Holy Cross. The Canterbury School knocked off Brooks in the Class B final with Shane Pearly scoring MVP honors. In Class C, Greens Farms Academy won their third straight championship, defeating Winchendon 64-53. Jim Djema earned MVP honors while sophomore big man Sunday Okeke had 16 points and 20 rebounds and senior forward Zach Baines scored 17. Nisre Zouzoua led Boston Trinity Academy to their second straight championship in class B, earning MVP hardware for the second consecutive year, as they defeated Bancroft 87-61.