ME HS Season Wrap-Up

New England Recruiting Report | Monday, March 28th, 2016

ME HS Season Wrap-Up

Our look back at the high school season in all six New England states brings us to the state of Maine today, were five state champions were recently crowned.

A pair of local rivals met in the inaugural Class AA final and together they delivered a classic for the ages as Portland held off South Portland 52-50 in double overtime.

Amir Moss delivered a star-studded performance for the champions, pouring in 27 points and grabbing 11 rebounds. South Portland did it with balance as three different players scored in double figures – Ruay Bol had 14 points and 9 rebounds while both Matt Pelletier and Jack Fiorni had 12.
Portland finished the year with a record of 20-1 while South Portland was 12-10.

In Class A, Thomas Coyne wrote a victorious final chapter of his high school basketball story with 16 points in a 59-28 Falmout win over Oceanside.
Colin Coyne was one of three other players to score in double figures, adding 11, but the win was all about defense for Falmouth, who held Oceanside to just 8 first half points and didn’t allow anymore more than 6 in the entire game.

Falmouth finished the season with a record of 18-4 while Oceanside wrapped up their year at 16-6.

Moss and Coyne weren’t the only senior stars to cap their careers in style, Lake Region senior Jack Lesure was able to do the same in Class B, leading his school to their first state championship in 31 years.

Lesure scored 12 of his 14 points in the second half while Nate Smith also had 14, along with 7 rebounds. Marcus DeVoe had 12 points as well while Bruce St. Peter led Ellsworth with 15 points and 9 rebounds.

Lake Region finished the year with a record of 20-2 while Ellsworth was 17-5.

George Stevens knocked off Waynflete 59-46 to win the Class C championship and punctuate a 21-1 season behind 25 points from Taylor Schildroth while Valley beat Easton 55-44 to win the Class D championship.

Following the season, Hampden Academy guard Nick Gilpin was named Mr. Basketball in the state. Other semi-finalists included: Nicholas DePatsy, Medomak Valley; Andrew Fleming, Oxford Hills; Matt Pushard, Brewer; Riley Robinson, Dirigo; Thomas Coyne, Falmouth; Amir Moss, Portland; Shyheim Ulrickson, Mt. Ararat; and Donovan Savage, Caribou.