HS Season Wrap-Up: CIAC

Thursday, March 28th, 2019

HS Season Wrap-Up: CIAC

The high school basketball season officially ended in New England last weekend as the last of the state champions was crowned on Sunday and so today we'll begin the process of looking back on the six state associations.

Up first is the CIAC in the state of Connecticut where East Catholic captured the division I state championship for the second time in the last four years and earned redemption after falling in the state tournament in each of the last two seasons. 

The big three of Jaylin Hunter, Joey Reilly, and Matt Knowling led the way with 24, 20, and 19 points respectively. Hunter also added 10 rebounds, 3 assists, and 3 steals. 

For Reilly, this capped a four-year career that not only included a pair of state championships but also a 104-7 career record including a 27-1 mark this year. 

The state final was a rematch of the CCC final, which Windsor had won two weeks earlier. Primo Spears and Corey McKeithan led the Warriors with 22 and 20 points respectively.

Click here for the full story on the division I championship game. 


In division II, Waterford beat New Britain 63-56 to win their second straight state championship. 

Waterford finished the season with a 27-1 record. Ryan O'Connell led the way with 14 points and 15 rebounds as the Lancers out-rebounded the Hurricanes 41-26. Maurice Turner scored a team high 19 points for New Britain.

Click here for the full story on the division II championship game.


Farmington, who was appearing in their first state final since 1939, defeated Amistad Academy to win the division III state final. 

Sophomore forward Bube Momah led the way with 16 points, 17 rebounds, and 4 blocks. 

The game was decided by a 20-2 run by Farmington in the second half that ultimately led to a 55-45 decision. 

AJ Edwards scored a team high 15 points for Amistad. 

Click here for the full story on the division III championship game.


New Canaan took the division IV crown by defeating Granby 55-39, winning their first state championship since 1962. Alex Gibbens scored a team high 13 points while Matt Brand and Ryan McAleer finished with 12 and 11 respectively. 

Click here for the full story on the division IV championship game.


Innovation Magnet School from New Britain won the division V state title by knocking off Oly Lyme 62-41 and finish with a 24-2 record on the season. 

L.J. Hazelwood led the way with 14 points and 9 rebounds while Brady Sheffield and Ray Doll both scored 11 for Old Lyme. 

Click here for the full story on the division V championship game.


On Tuesday, the CHSCA also announced their all-state teams. Here's a listing of the winners:

Division I - Mikey Basile, Immaculate; Denali Burton, Danbury; Kevin Crawford, Bassick; Jaylin Hunter, East Catholic; Matt Knowling, East Catholic; Corey McKeithan, Windsor; Connor Raines, Notre Dame West Haven; Joe Reilly, East Catholic; Amir Spears, Windsor; James St. Pierre, Ridgefield; Jamaal Waters, Sacred Heart; and Timmond Williams, Trumbull.

DIVISION II - JJ Brennan, Waterford; Maximus Edwards, Bunnell; Aidan Godfrey, Cheshire; Aaron Latham, Glastonbury; Kerwin Prince, Crosby; Jack Shea, Glastonbury; Quinton Sneed-Lott, Kolbe Cathedral; Liam Spellman, Waterford; Derek Tenney, Wethersfield; Logan Tomlinson, Manchester; and Marquan Watson, WCA.

DIVISION III - Robert DiSibio, Newtown; AJ Edwards, Amistad; Makhi Hawkins, Farmington; Luke Leonard, East Lyme; Jean Lukau, Naugatuck; Bube Momah, Farmington; Dev Ostrowski, East Lyme; DeJuan Ransom, Wilcox Tech; Jack Ryan, Stratford; Garrett Sattazahn, Wamogo; and Kazell Stewart, Prince Tech.

DIVISION IV - Gabe Charleston, Cromwell; Diontae Eady, Jonathan Law; Shane Henderson, Old Saybrook; Max Lee, St. Bernard; Jared Lobo, Suffield; Steve Paolini, St. Joseph; Nazeer Priar, Abbott Tech; Elmin Redzepagic, Wolcott; Josh Schibi, Lewis Mills; James Shelansky, Granby; Robert Simmons, Classical Magnet; and Nick Wright, Cromwell. 

DIVISION V - Mathieu Augustin, HMTCA; Alex Barresi, Somers; Jahwan Cody, Derby; Gavin Grabowski, Valley Regional; LJ Hazelwood, Innovation; Garrett Johnson, Morgan; Jarret Michaels, Nonnewaug; Lenny Okonya, Innovation; Victor Smith, HMTCA; Aedan Using, Old Lyme; and Cyrus Sprague, Parish Hill.