National Prep Showcase Coming to Rhode Island | Sunday, November 16th, 2008

National Prep Showcase Coming to Rhode Island

19 of the top 100 players in the country’s class of 2009 will be participating in the National Prep Showcase beginning this Friday, November 21st at Bryant University.  The talented field of team’s will be headlined by last year’s national champions Hargrave Military Academy (VA) along with 2007 national champions Notre Dame Prep (MA), 2008 NEPSAC champions Brewster Academy (NH), and perennial powerhouses like the Patterson School (NC), Bridgton Academy (ME), South Kent School (CT), Stoneridge Prep (CA), the Winchendon School (MA), St. Thomas More School (CT), New Hampton School (NH), and Northfield Mount Hermon (MA). 

This year’s event will also add a new feature as some of the nation’s top high school programs (no post-graduates) will also be included.  This group will be headlined by the #6 ranked high school team in the country, Findlay College Prep, as well as local powerhouses St. Andrew’s School (RI) and St. Mark’s School (RI) who feature Rhode Island native Erik Murphy

Top 100 players (class of 2009) in the field include:  Avery Bradley, Findlay College Prep, Committed to Texas; Alex Oriakhi, Tilton School, Committed to UConn; Erik Murphy, St. Mark’s, Committed to Florida; Thomas Robinson, Brewster Academy, committed to Kansas; Maurice Creek, Hargrave Military Academy, Committed to Indiana; D.J. Richardson, Findlay College Prep, Committed to Illinois; Kevin Parrom, South Kent, committed to Xavier; Clarence Trent, Patterson School, committed to Washington; Jamal Coombs, Tilton School, committed to UConn; Arsalam Kazemi, Patterson School, committed to Rice; Andrew Fitzgerald, Brewster Academy, committed to Oklahoma, Omari Lawrence, South Kent, committed to St. John’s; Freddie Riley, Hargrave Military Academy, committed to UMass; Mark McLaughlin, New Hampton, committed to Nevada; Sean Kilpatrick, Notre Dame Prep, committed to Cincinnati; DeShawn Painter, Hargrave Military Academy, committed to Florida; Mohamed Koita, Stoneridge Prep; Givon Crump, Brewster Academy, committed to Baylor; and Austin Johnson, Blair Academy, committed to Rutgers. 

Other local stars in action will include: Naadir Tharpe (Brewster Academy); Evan Smotrycz (New Hampton), Ron Giplaye and Malik Smith (Notre Dame Prep); Mike Marra, Brian Fitzpatrick, Matt Brown, and Joe Sharkey (Northfield Mount Hermon); Rashad Wright (South Kent); Michael Laplante and Mike Carter-Williams (St. Andrew’s); Nate Lubick and Alex Murphy (St. Mark’s); Sam Markle and Rob Harrigan (St. Thomas More); Gerard Coleman and Scott Tavares (Tilton); and Preye Preboye and Akeem Williams (Winchendon). 



1 p.m. – St. Thomas More vs. Massanutten Military Academy
2:30 p.m. – Notre Dame Prep vs. Patterson School
4:00 p.m. – Bridgton Academy vs. Hargrave Military Academy
5:30 p.m. – Winchendon School vs. Stoneridge Prep
 7:30 p.m. - Northfield Mount Hermon vs. Fork Union
9:00 p.m. - St. Andrew's School vs. Findlay College Prep


9 a.m. – St. Thomas More vs. Lee Academy
10:30 a.m. – Maine Central Institute vs. Patterson School
12 p.m. – Winchendon vs. Hargrave Military Academy
1: 30 p.m. – Notre Dame Prep vs. Massanutten Military Academy
3 p.m. – Brewster Academy vs. Fork Union
4:30 p.m. – South Kent vs. Stoneridge Prep
6 p.m. – Bridgton Academy vs. Champlain St. Lambert
7:30 p.m. – St. Mark's vs. Findlay College Prep
9 p.m. – New Hampton vs. Blair Academy


10 a.m. – Brewster Academy vs. Stoneridge Prep
11:30 a.m. – South Kent vs. Patterson School
1 p.m. – New Hampton vs. Lee Academy
2:30 p.m. – Northfield Mount Hermon vs. Champlain St. Lambert
4 p.m. – Tilton vs. Maine Central Institute
5:30 p.m. – St. Andrew's vs. Blair Academy