HS Season Wrap-Up: VPA

Monday, April 1st, 2019

Jamison Evans 2019

With the high school season now behind us, this is the third installment in a six-part series that looks back on the season that was in New England’s six respective state associations. 

So far, we have profiled the CIAC and RIIL, recognizing state champions as well as individual award winners. 

Today, we turn our attention to the state of Vermont where St. Johnsbury captured the division I crown with a 54-50 win over Rutland in the state final. 

Alex Carlisle played a starring role by scoring 24 points, including 14 in the third quarter, in the final after knocking down the game-winner days earlier in the semifinals over top-seeded Rice. 

Mount St. Joseph won the division II championship by defeating Lake Region 49-44 behind 17 points a piece for Logan Montilla and Maddox Traynor. 

Thetford defeated Williamstown 73-64 in the division III championship game as Jake Colby and Alex Emerson scored 22 and 20 points respectively. 

Danville won division IV by knocking off Poutney 57-44 in the state final behind 24 points from Ian Steele.  

Following the season, the Vermont Basketball Coaches Association announced a number of awards. 

Rutland seneior Jamison Evans, who was named Gatorade Player of the Year in Vermont a week earlier, picked up VBCA Player of the Year honors as well. 

Full rosters from the senior all-star game and underclassmen Dream Dozen are located below. 

Division I & II North All-Stars - BFA-St. Albans: Logan Tobin. Champlain Valley: Cole Otley. Essex: Robbie Meslin. Lake Region: Drew Drageset. Lyndon: Dylan Young. Milton: Deven Creamer, Ian Jennings. Mount Mansfield: Asa Carlson, Becket Hill, Harrison Leombruno-Nicholson. Rice: John Rousseau. South Burlington: Brendan Bridge. St. Johnsbury: Alex Carlisle. U-32: Jordan Hawkins, Bryson Richards. 

Division I & II South All-Stars — Brattleboro: Adam Newton. Burr and Burton: Pat Forstmann, Will Frank, Jake Nicholson. Lamoille: Kolby Picard. Mill River: Zach Ames, William Grabowski. Middlebury: Parker Beatty. Mount Abraham: Logan Rodriguez. Mount St. Joseph: Leo Carranza, Logan Montilla. Otter Valley: Dylan Mackie, Tyler Rowe. Rutland: Jamison Evans, Jacob Lorman. 

Division III-IV North All-Stars — BFA-Fairfax: Everett Haddock, Keegan Place. Danville: Tito Chamul, Tim White. Hazen: Elliot Kimball, Freddie Larson. Peoples: Louis Angione, Nick Holbrook. Stowe: Josh McDonald. White River Valley: Eddie Bray, Troy Walker. Williamstown: Colby Gingras, Garrett Metcalf, Tyler Orton. Winooski: Mayange Mayange. 

Division III-IV South All-Stars — Arlington: Jack Lane. Black River: Ryan Boyle, Jon Mason. Blue Mountain: Tyler Burroughs. Leland & Gray: Lucas Newton. Long Trail: Jackson Washburn. Poultney: Levi Haviland, Eli Rosario. Proctor: Nate Greb. Rivendell: Isaac Martel. Sharon: Fisher Kelly. Thetford: Jake Colby. Websterville: Porter Peloquin. Windsor: Hunter Grela, Robert Slocum.

Division I-II Dream Dozen — Brattleboro: Tyler Millerick. Burlington: Jensen Daly. Champlain Valley: Ethan Harvey. Lamoille: Hunter Wells. Mill River: Aidan Botti. Montpelier: Leo Riby-Williams, Tyler Ricker. Mount Anthony: Gavin Johnson. Rice: Leo Chaikin, Michel Ndayishimiye. South Burlington: Evan Parker. St. Johnsbury: Logan Wendell.

Division III-IV Dream Dozen — Danville: Ian Steele. Green Mountain: James Anderson. Hazen: Isaiah Baker. Oxbow: Bryce Ilsley. Poultney: Heith Mason. Proctor: Conner McKearin, Joe Valerio. Randolph: Levi West. Rivendell: Zach Gould. Thetford: Eli Dunnet. Twinfield: Gavin Fowler. Williamstown: Jacob Tassie.