HS Season Wrap-Up: MPA

Tuesday, April 2nd, 2019

Matthew Fleming 2019

With the high school season now behind us, this is the fifth installment in a six-part series that looks back on the season that was in New England’s six respective state associations. 

So far, we have profiled the CIAC, RIIL, VPA, and NHIAA recognizing state champions as well as individual award winners. 

Today, we turn our attention to the state of Maine where Matthew Fleming and Bangor High School were the story this season. Bangor defeated Bonny Eagle 58-48 to win the AA state championship while Fleming was named Maine Mr. Basketball following the season. Damien Vance scored a team high 20 points in the finals while Fleming added 19. Zach Maturo led Bonny Eagle with 19. 

In class A, Greely won their third consecutive state championship by beating Lawrence 62-45 in the championship game. Junior Logan Bagshaw led the way with 21 points while Zach Brown and Andrew Storey added 14 and 11 respectively. 

In class B, Caribou won their first state championship in 50 years but needed a pair of overtimes to do it before escaping Cape Elizabeth 49-47. Austin Findlen scored a team-high 13 points for Caribou while Andrew Hartel led Cape with 18 points and 15 rebounds before fouling out. 

Winthrop won the class C championship by defeating Houlton 61-49 behind a 16 point, 11 rebound, 3 block performance from senior big man Cam Wood. 

Forest Hills won the class D title by defeating Schenck 70-65 and finalizing their perfect season. Brandon Gilboe and Parker Desjardins both scored 18 points for the victors while Brandon Gilboe and Jakob Rivas added 15 each. 

Following the season the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches announced several post-season awards. Fleming was named Mr. Basketball while Edward Little's Wol Maiwen and Deering's Ben Onek were the other finalists. 

Multiple players were also selected for the annual Maine McDonald's All-Star Weekend. 

AA/A/B South: Andrew Hartel, Cape Elizabeth; Niklas Hester, Falmouth; Oscar Saunders, Fryeburg; John Martin, Gray-New Gloucester; Andrew Storey, Greely; Zach Brown, Greely; Cameron Lovejoy, Kennebunk; Keegan Davis, Mountain Valley; Nick Fiorillo, Scarborough; Kayle Stewart, Spruce Mountain; Matt Sherburne, Wells; Chris Cummins, York. 

AA/A/B North: Damien Vance, Bangor; Matt Fleming, Bangor; Ben Onek, Deering; Wol Maiwen, Edward Little; Garrett Trask, Hermon; James Anderson, Mt. Blue; Cooper Wirkala, Oceanside; Connor Robertson, Orono; Spencer Strong, Oxford Hills; Colton Carson, Oxford Hills; Jonah Hudson, Presque Isle; Marcus Christopher, Skowhegan.

C/D South: Stephen Reny, Boothbay; Jeremy St. Germain, Dirigo; Brandon Gilboe, Forest Hills; Jakob Rivas, Forest Hills; Ashtyn Abbott, Hall-Dale; Alec Bryon, Hall-Dale; Jacob Meader, Madison; Connor Savies, Monmouth; Ilija Ivkovic, Temple; Joey Thomas, Valley, Jared McLaughlin, Winthrop; Cam Wood, Winthrop. 

C/D North; Tyson Gray, Bucksport; Ben Thomas, Central Aroostook; Trever Richards, Dexter; Caleb Delisle, Fort Kent; Camden Jandreau, Fort Kent; Percy Zentz, George Stevens; Alex Brown, Mattanawcook; Elijah Wood, Penobscot Valley; Grant Kidon, Penobscot Valley; Travis Thompson, Schenck; Colby McLean, Sumner, Drew Hayward, Woodland.