HS Season Wrap-Up: NHIAA

Wednesday, April 3rd, 2019

HS Season Wrap-Up: NHIAA

With the high school season now behind us, this is the fourth installment in a six-part series that looks back on the season that was in New England’s six respective state associations. 

So far, we have profiled the CIAC, RIIL, and VPA, recognizing state champions as well as individual award winners. 

Today, we turn our attention to the state of New Hampshire where Exeter High School capped a perfect season by winning the division I state championship 53-30 over Salem. Kevin Henry scored a team-high 18 points while Ryan Grijalva and Josh Morrissette chipped in with 11 each. 

Pembroke Academy took the division II state championship. Noah Cummings and Sean Menard led the way while Jack Lehoullier chipped in to lead Pembroke over Kearsarge 47-35. 

Conant knocked off Somersworth for the division III state championship while Epping defeated Littleton for the division IV title. 

Following the season the New Hampshire Basketball Coaches Organization handed out their post-season awards. 

Division I 

Coach of the Year - Jeff Holmes, Exeter
Player of the Year - Arie Breakfield, Spaulding

First Team - Ty Vitko, Dover; Kevin Henry, Exeter; Alex Tavares, Portsmouth; Ben Allen Winnacunnet; Jack Schaake, Winnacunnet. 

Second Team - Josh Morissette, Exeter; Ethan May, Londonberry; Zack Caraballo, Salem; Scott Lampron, Concord; Ryan Weston, Alvirne; Kyle Poulin, Salem. 

Division II

Coach of the Year - Leonid Gershgorin, Conval
Player of the Year - Noah Cummings, Pembroke

First Team - Kyle Landrigan, Oyster River; Mather Kipka, Conval; Derek Crowley, Pelham; Kyle Dube, MV; Noah Tremblay, Kearsage. 

Second Team - Joe Morell, Oyster River; Charlie Adams, Hanover; Matthew McCool, Souhegan; Sean Menard, Pembroke; Christian Barr, John Stark; Max Richard, Conval. 

Division III

Coach of the Year - Sean Murphy, St. Thomas
Player of the Year - Evan Gray, Somersworth

First Team - Seth Balderamma, Berlin; Eli Swanson, Inter-Lakes; Andrew Cavanaugh, St. Thomas; Sam Stauffeneker, Mascenic; Peyton Springfield, Conant. 

Second Team - Jonah Crema, Campbell; Shawn Dekorne, St. Thomas; Kyle Mann, Winnisquam; Zeke Pribbernow, White Mountain; Jake Drew, Conant; Griffin Embree, Belmont. 

Division IV

Coach of the Year - Nick Fiset, Epping
Player of the Year - Hunter Bullock

First Team - Danny Kubkowski, Littleton; Simon Cote, Newmarket; Parker Briggs, Littleton; Jared Woodman, Newmarket; Peyton Rivers, Epping.

Second Team - Billy Green, Woodsville; Dylan Bocash, Pittsfield; Gavin Simpson, Groveton; Max Byron, Derryfield; Devin Bedell, Pittsfield; Jon Scherer, Colebrook.