Vermont Coaches Association Names Award Winners

NewEnglandRecruitingReport.com | Monday, March 16th, 2009

Vermont Coaches Association Names Award Winners

The north claimed victory in both all-star games, scoring an 86-59 win in the division I & II game and an 83-75 decision in the division III & IV contest. 

Nick Meunier was the leading scorer in the division I & II game as he scored 18 points while getting the chance to show off his shooting range from the perimeter.  Clancy Rugg finished with 15 including two thunderous dunks coming off passes from his Burlington teammate Shane NorrisMarcus Dutkiewicz chipped in with 9 while John Donnelly added 8.  The South squad was paced by Austin Bicskei from Miller River, Peter Francis from Bellows Falls, and Jake Lapan from Woodstock who all finished with 8 points. 

Billy Vasiliadis led the way in the division III & IV game as he scored 20 points showing his ability to put points on the board in a variety of different ways.  Cody Chamberlin from Northfield and Liam Walsh of Stowe kicked in 11 a piece for the North while BFA Fairfax’s Seth Rebeor and Lake Region’s Jordan Poutre both added 7.  The South was led by Thetford’s Jason Grey and Black River’s Bobby Rohrig who both scored 9.  Charlie Jobin from Blue Mountain and Ryan Carter from Proctor had 8 each. 

The Vermont Basketball Coaches’ Association also handed out their season ending awards, including the state’s most valuable player.  This year that distinction went to Burlington senior Clancy Rugg.  The 6’7” forward averaged over 17 points per game as he led Burlington to an undefeated regular season before falling in the division I final to Rice. 

Other awards handed out included Vermont’s Dream Dozen, which acknowledges the top twelve underclassmen performers in the state.  However, this year that turned into a baker’s dozen as 13 players were selected due to ties in the voting process.  The players awarded were:  Joe OShea, Burlington High School, 2010; Kyle Callanan, Mount Anthony Union High School, 2010; Demir Smajovic, Essex Junction High School, 2010; Billy Boyd, Hazen High School, 2010; Richie Hackett, Lake Region High School, 2010; Emmitt Simpson, Lake Region High School, 2010; Connor Merrill, Vergennes High School, 2010; Eric Dubuque, South Burlington High School, 2010; Scott Hayford, Twin Valley High School, 2010; Evan Tullar, Spaulding High School, 2011; Nick Swim, St. Alban’s High School, 2011; Troy Davine, Rutland High School, 2011; and Harrison Taggart, Mill River High School, 2012. 

Coach of the year honors went to Burlington’s Matt Johnson in division I, Mill River’s Jason Smith in division II, Lake Region’s James Ingalls in division III, and Websterville Baptist’s Jay Ramson in division IV.