Early Signing Period Arrives

New England Recruiting Report | Tuesday, November 8th, 2011

Early Signing Period Arrives

Wednesday marked the beginning of the early signing period, meaning that for the next ten days players in the class of 2012 are permitted to sign their National Letter of Intent. 

The National Letter of Intent marks the point where a player enters into a formal contract with the school in which he has committed, as opposed to a verbal commitment which is in no way binding. 

Some of the players expected to sign during this first period are Mitch McGary, Kaleb Tarczewski, Ricardo Ledo, Kris Dunn, Georges Niang, Nikolas Stauskas, Zach Auguste, Jake Layman, Olivier Hanlan, Myles Davis, Clyde Smith, John Papale, Timajh Parker-Rivera, Domonique Bull, Akosa Maduegbunam, Terry Tarpey, Ethan ODay, Jesse Chuku, Ryan Frazier, Ben Freeland, Curtis Jones, Chris Ortiz, Olivier Paul Betu, Dimitry Coronel, Tevin Falzon, Eric Green, Alex Ramone, Jared Brandon, James Farr, Tobe Okafor, Barry Webster, Darrick Wood, Barrington Alston, Semaj Christon, Jalen Reynolds, Aaron Thomas, and T.J. Warren

Players committed to schools in the Ivy League do not sign NLI’s since the Ivy League does not offer athletic scholarships. 

Brewster Academy’s Jakarr Sampson is the region’s highest profile prospect who plans to wait until the late signing period while players like Darren Payen, Alex Furness, and Sam Cassell Jr. will no doubt be pursued especially hard in the next ten days as college programs hope to lock up a signature while they still can.